Berlin: zu Hause

728
home from home: telephone box at Tegelersee

 

P1020793
The Berlin wall at Bernauer Straße

 

IMG_7815
Graffiti at Teufelsberg

 

IMG_7823
Tower at Teufelsberg

“Du bist verrückt mein Kind, du mußt nach Berlin.

“You are crazy, my child. You must go to Berlin.”

Franz von Suppe, composer, 1819-1895

 

Anyone who has ever been to Berlin is probably well aware of the lure of this city. It’s something that stems from its history and seeps under your skin and into your bones. I’ve lost count of the number of visitors I’ve overheard saying things like “It’s my city”  or “I feel so at home here” and they’ve got a point.

It’s an open city, a free city, welcoming but completely aloof to your plans and ideas. Berlin doesn’t care what you do, what you wear, how it all works out for you. She won’t help you settle in or hold your hand while you make new friends but she won’t criticise what you do either. She’s capricious: sometimes rewarding hard work, other times not; sometimes she’ll speak your language, other times she’ll bark at you in Deutsch. But she’s a good (if somewhat contradictory) companion. She loves a beer and a good yarn, late nights in a club and yoga at 6 a.m., fine art and graffiti, she smokes indoors but wears flip-flops in the shower. And so on.

My own love-affair with Berlin happened completely by chance. In ignorance fuelled mainly by lingering images of grey concrete buildings and even greyer skies from my school textbooks, I almost passed up the offer of a week’s holiday here to visit uni friends. That week flew by in a haze of warm, late nights; evening lake-swimming; cheap eats; daytime beers; and ping pong. We decided on the plane home to move there.

*                                *                                *

Three months later, with some paltry savings and nothing more than a backpack and a guitar, we arrived. It wasn’t the most felicitous welcome: that year Berlin’s October already felt like a British January. It was, surprise surprise, EXACTLY like my textbooks: grey, cold and bloody miserable. Gone were the pavement tables and the long, slow sunsets. Gone were the smiles and the Boules and the canal-side ambling. It was as if Berlin had gathered up all the inhabitants and tucked them into her voluminous fur-coat to keep them safe and warm from the winter. The streets were deserted except for the battened-down dog walkers and the occasional burst of orange from a BSR rubbish collector. My most vivid memories from that time is the acrid smell of coal ovens burning day and night, and the pervasive, bone-numbing cold. I felt pretty low.

Our first flat was a tiny place in a silent Hof next to the Mauerpark in Prenzlauerberg. We had a calor-gas stove, a heap of blankets and mould growing on the walls, but at least it was our own space. Unable to find jobs, our days were spent practising songs to busk with, walking around our Kiez and waiting for our friends to finish work so we could start drinking. Definitely not the healthiest time in my life. Having no structure to our days, hardly any money and absolutely no sun for weeks on end was wearying in the extreme. We booked one-way flights back home for Christmas prepared to give up the Berlin dream.

And then, on our daily trip to the Späti to use the internet, I found an email inviting me to an interview! Despite having no interview-appropriate clothing, and being too poor to buy any, I got the job, and the day before we flew home, my boyfriend was also offered a job. Our luck had finally changed and we came back in the new year with a sense of purpose and determination to make our new life work.

*                                        *                                        *

That tale was several years ago now, and I’m still here. I love Berlin- she’s seen me through some tough times and given me some of my favourite memories and people. Her winters may still be grey and bitter, but when you’re spending them with wonderful friends, in cozy cafes, and focussing on the pretty lights and the smell of Glühwein instead of mould and coal smoke, then you can appreciate the beauty year round.

 

P1010957
View of Prenzlauerberg

 

707
Ice on the Landwehrkanal in Neukölln

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Berlin: zu Hause

  1. Hallo VeganVoman! I just discovered your blog from a link on another vegan’s page; I look forward to reading past posts, so I’m now a follower. As you observe firsthand, Berlin has so many facets. Verücktheit is just one of them.
    I was an exchange student in the university town of Giessen from 1971 to 1973 and visited East Berlin ten years after the wall was built, as well as the border between East and West Germany: observation towers, barbed wire, weed overgrown road on the east side, etc. My nephew and his wife are students at Humboldt University: I went to their wedding in Aachen in 2014. It was quite more than amazing when in Berlin to take the same S-train to Alexanderplatz, once in 1972 and then in 2014 🙂
    The experience so impacted me that I got an M.A. in German Language and Literature at the Univ. of Cincinnati (long German historical city) and taught German.
    A little fun sidelight: my nephew’s wife, although very fluent in English (well, that’s not unusual I guess) slipped during the wedding rehearsal with “Wedding Wow.”
    So, Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovely to hear from you! I love that story of your nephew’s wife- Germans certainly struggle with those sounds (in contrast to me who basically struggles with the whole of their language!)
      I can imagine how amazing that S-Bahn trip must have been- even in the few years I’ve been here the city changed so rapidly. I do wish I’d been here just after the wall came down though. Instead I have to rely on my students’ stories from those days to get a feeling for how it was.
      Thanks so much for reading my posts and for leaving such an interesting comment 🙂
      Bis dann!

      Like

Leave a Reply

